Day Three Of Armchair BEA 2014

Lectures and short stories

ArmchairBEA 2014

This is day three for Armchair BEA 2014. Two topics are being discussed: where blogging  is taking me and, what I think of short fiction. Without further ado, here goes.

My blogging has expanded exponentially since I began more than six years ago. What began as a small project quickly expanded into a business.  I began writing book reviews for The Naples Daily News as a result of my blogging. Now I lecture seasonally at book clubs in S.W. Florida.  This is a big deal because there are many, many clubs in this area. And they are all in need of advise on what to read. It is a business I absolutely love. I have met some great people who love reading good books as much as I do. I return on a regular basis with the newest, hottest literature of the moment.  And I expect to have a banner year this season as I am booked way into next year already. It is win/win.

Francesca Marciano

The Other Language

The question of short fiction is one I have thought quite a bit about lately. I was one of those people who just did not give a book of short stories the time of day. I really enjoy a story with a lot of meat in it. Shorts are short.  However, having said all that, I have to admit that short story collections are making a come back. In fact, I try to include one in each lecture I do. The one I am reading right now is written by a woman I admire for her CASA ROSSA some years ago.  Francesca Marciano lives in Rome, Italy. She is an amazing writer.  Her new book of short fiction is called THE OTHER LANGUAGE and is global. The stories take you around the world experiencing unique and yet timely situations.

Tomorrow is going to be huge for Armchair BEA 2014. Giveaways!

3 thoughts on “Day Three Of Armchair BEA 2014

  1. I find that short stories often pack a big punch but I don’t usually give them enough time either. I love sinking into something a bit longer.

Leave a Reply

