Giveaway! A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton

Jackie Copleton

A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding

A DICTIONARY OF MUTUAL UNDERSTANDING, by Jackie Copleton, is a real treat for my readers.  And how cool that I have a giveaway copy! I will need you to leave a comment below. Only U.S. addresses, please. And no P.O. boxes, as usual. Good luck! I will choose my winner on Dec. 1.

This is a beautiful novel of remarkable loss, regret, and forgiveness. You’ll find yourself completely enmeshed in the story of Ama, Kuko, and Hideo, before, during, and after the bombing of Nagasaki on August 9, 1945. All the world changed for so many people living in Japan. This is the story of one family…

In the tradition of MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA and THE PIANO TEACHER,  a heart-wrenching debut novel of family, forgiveness, and the exquisite pain of love.”


Jackie Copleton

When Amaterasu Takahashi opens the door of her home in Philadelphia to a disfigured man who claims to be her grandson, she doesn’t believe it. Of course not. Her grandson Hideo was killed along with his mother Kuko nearly forty years ago during the bombing of Nagasaki.  And the story grabs  you by the throat!

Unspeakable loss and regret are the recurring themes in this wonderful new novel.  Written by someone who truly lived in Nagasaki, Copleton has managed to capture the essence of the country and its manners. Along with the colorful people and their customs. Copleton lived in Nagasaki for two years in the 1990’s. And it shows.

Here’s a link to a fabulous Book Club Kit. Book Club Kit

The very generous publishing people at PenguinRandom House are supplying my giveaway copy! Thanks so much.

Girls Who Travel by Nicole Trilivas

Nicole Trilivas

Girls Who Travel

Did you love Bridget Jones? If so, you are going to love GIRLS WHO TRAVEL, by Nicole Trilivas!

Beginning in New York City, then quickly moving to London, this first novel by Trilivas, entertains and gets your travel juices running.

I was very happy to get the heck out of NYC. I love NY, but Kika, the main character, was having an awful go of it with her equally awful job. I could hardly stand it. Then, off she flew to take on a new job as nanny to two children and a very well-to-do family.

This fun novel truly does not begin until the moment Kika  finds herself on the doorstep of her new home. Well, she believes it’s the right house.  After all, the driver did let her out here.  It’s very early in the  morning. And there’s a drunken man asleep on the stoop.

Kika’s adventures are not the same as Bridget Jones. But the writing is quite a bit like it.  The colorful language and wit are wonderful.  I could not help but care for Kika as she felt her way around London and came upon the upper crust of London society.

The amount of riches is mind-blowing. These people who have hired Kika to be the nanny to their children are richer than rich. And when they jet off to the south of Italy for holiday, I whooped with delight. Positano. OMG! I do love the place. Trilivas has definitely spent some time there. She flavored the vacation aspect of the story delightfully and spot-on.  Took me right back to that amazing paradise.



Of course Kika has a love life. But who is she going to end up with? You see, Kika fell madly in love with an Irishman while traipsing around the world a year ago.  She has not seen him in some time. But still feels her heart go pit-a-pat at the sound of his voice. But now that’s she’s settled in London she’s met someone new.  But how suitable would the match be?

Kika is sassy, full of spunk. The girls in her charge are too.  The girls are new to their school in London. They also have come from America.  There is bullying in London as well as anywhere else. Kika is the perfect person to take things into her own hands and still those mean girls.  But mom must never know.

Kika’s lifelong dream has always been to travel. So she’s planning for her next big adventure even as she is experiencing this one. But what happens when the man of her dreams is not a traveler?

Once I got past the first chapter of this novel I found myself flying through the pages. It’s perfect for now, during the holidays, when you might not want something terribly deep. I really liked it.

My review copy arrived compliments of Berkley Publishing Group; a division of Penguin Random House. Thanks so much.

White Collar Girl by Renée Rosen

Renée Rosen

White Collar Girl

Just look at this pristine photo. The quintessential fifties beauty. WHITE COLLAR GIRL takes place in the 50’s. I would say it’s got a Mad Menesque quality. Yes, I know that is not a word spell check recognized. And I don’t  care. It does describe this book.

Jordan  Walsh thought it would be a cinch getting a job in the newsroom at the Chicago Tribune since both her father and brother had been newsmen. Think again, sister. This is the 50’s and women don’t just hired at newspapers without a lot of trials and tribulations. And, even then, they start in menial little jobs that pay little and work you to death doing trivial stuff.

But Jordan does manage to shove her little toe inside the Chicago Tribune. Just enough to cover the society pages. But, that is not what she has in mind. Jordan desires BIG news. Certainly bigger stuff than who’s who.  Writing about Marilyn Monroe powdering her nose is not news to her.  Who cares?

When Jordan comes across a source who must remain a secret she uncovers a pot of worms crawling around in Mayor Daley’s office. When she offers it up in the newsroom, the guys steal her byline, reaffirming her distrust of them all.

If you’re nostalgic for more Mad Men, and want a take-you-back kind of story, this is it.  Jordan is certainly a strong woman. And she sticks in there with the best of the guys. How fun to watch her go.

My review copy has been provided by New American Library in exchange for an honest review.

About Women: Conversations Between A Writer and a Painter by Lisa Alther and Franciose Gilot

intimate conversations

About Women

Publisher’s Weekly says: “American novelist Alther and French artist Gilot converse on an array of topics including their vocations, cultural differences, fashion, and family histories…In this tribute to the length and quality of their friendship, the authors adeptly draw one another out, challenge each other, and build on each other’s ideas. The conversation is consistently funny, interesting, and thoughtful. “

Many of you may already recognize the name of Franciose Gilot.  At age 93 she has had a colorful life to say the least.  She was the lover and artistic muse to Pablo Picasso from 1944-1953. She’s also the mother to his children: Claude and Paloma.

Pablo PIcasso


But you may not be familiar with Lisa Alther. She’s written many novels, but her most recent writing contribution is BLOOD FEUD: THE HATFIELDS AND THE MCCOYS, THE EPIC STORY OF MURDER AND VENGEANCE.  What an unlikely friendship, you might think. I certainly did. Whereas Gilot was born in France and grew up in Nazi occupied Paris, Alther was born in Tennessee and spent time in New England.

Lisa Alther

Lisa Alther

In their talks Gilot and Alther explore the ways in which their backgrounds shaped their sometimes conflicting attitudes towards fate, love, sex, money, accessories, and many other issues. While questioning the other, each became more aware of her own cultural biases and the forces that had spawned them.”

An interesting expose that shows how much women have in common no matter their background.

My review copy came Random House/Doubleday  in exchange for an honest review.

And The Winner Is…

Hillary Clinton

Love Her, Love Her Not

I have the winner of LOVER HER, LOVER HER NOT by Joanne Bamberger. My winner is Margie. Margie I will send you an email asking for your mailing address. You book will arrive straight from the publisher. Congrats!

Thanks go out to those of you who entered. Thanks so much.

Giveaway! Love Her, Love Her Not by Joanne Cronrath Bamberger

Hillary Clinton

Love Her, Love Her Not

Written in sophisticated prose by women of distinction and class, the essays that comprise LOVE HER, LOVE HER NOT, might give you pause. No matter what your political persuasion, you are probably doing your homework about all the possible candidates running for president of the United States. I know I am. This is a great way to get to know more about the woman who might be president.

I wish to make it quite clear that I do not write about politics.  I am not endorsing Hillary. I was offered this giveaway post, and I happily agreed to do it. However, having said that, I would enjoy seeing a qualified woman in the president’s seat in my lifetime. What a wonderful think it would be for the grandkids to see.

Please leave a comment below and you will be entered to win! Only U.S. addresses, please, and no P.O. Boxes. Good luck. I will choose a winner on Monday, November 16.


Happy Cooking by Giada De Laurentiis

Giada De Laurentiis

Happy Cooking

“Filled with nearly 200 recipes, time-saving tips, and healthy eating strategies for every holiday, special occasion, and busy weekday in between, HAPPY COOKING is Giada’s year-round guide to cooking up a happy life.”

Giada is a busy woman trying to balance motherhood, a cooking show, cookbook writing, and a new restaurant in Vegas. In this new cookbook she shows that you can eat healthy without having to spend every moment in the kitchen. And the results are not only delicious, they are easy.

Giada De Laurentiis

Shaker Salad

Talk about easy, and it’s also make ahead. You can take this simple meal to work without having to worry about it getting soggy.  The heavy stuff goes on the bottom, light stuff on top. The dressing is the  first thing you add to the jar. When you are ready to eat, walla— just shake and eat.


Sautéed Shrimp Cocktail




Really simple to make.  Shrimp cook up quickly and sauce is made in a jiffy using mayo as a base.


Chilled Watermelon-Basil Gazpacho


This chilled soup might seem out of season to those of you who do not live here in sunny-all-year-round S.W. Florida, however, it is so delicious I had to include it.  Made in the blender and ready to serve lickety-split.!

I’ve recently become hooked on Giada’s newest TV show on Food Network.  She’s in Positano, Italy. The  filming is divine and brings back memories of our two weeks spent wandering the area and getting to know the friendly people of Southern Italy.

My beautiful finished copy of HAPPY COOKING by Giada De Laurentiis came from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review. It’s really great.