The Rumor by Elin Hilderbrand

Ellin Hilderbrand

The Rumor

I always read Elin Hilderbrand in the summer! Always, without exception. I’ve been reading her since she began writing novels. THE RUMOR is her latest novel. Of course it takes place on the island of Nantucket. And, of course, it’s fabulous. I will say right off the bat that this novel may well be her most humorous to date. I smiled, I laughed, and then I laughed out loud. I love Nantucket. Have I ever visited Nantucket? Well, of course I have; many times through the eyes and ears of my favorite summertime authors. THE RUMOR is perfect. Start out with two best friends: Madeline and Grace. Madeline is an author who is experiencing writer’s block, big-time. And she’s got a deadline with a clock that’s tick, tick, ticking away in her head like a time bomb. Grace is just a rich bitch, with a garden she’s trying to transform into the garden of Eden. Or so you would think. But she’s way too involved with her landscape architect who is having no problem showering her with all the attention her inattentive husband, “Fast Eddie,” has not been able to do. Does this spell big trouble in paradise to you? It sure does for me. While Grace is sowing her garden and the architect, Madeline is desperate to get something going with a new novel. So desperate, in fact, that she does something totally unethical… A small island has just got to be full of characters. And they must surely all know each other. Hilderbrand has done a bang up job showing us what can happen when rumors get out of hand.

author

Elin Hilderbrand

I read this novel in two sittings; very unlike me. I just could not put it down. I kept wanting more. The bratty teenagers, the illicit romance, the wild and crazy realtors. This novel has something for everyone. Not in any of her other novels has Elin gone so over the top with the funnies. She has stepped it up this summer. Lightened it up. It is a good thing. It is notable that during the writing of this fabulous novel Elin Hilderbrand was battling breast cancer. She admits to writing her novels in longhand, being a good cook, but she’s a terrible gardner. I borrowed this book from work using our readers’s program. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world!

One thought on “The Rumor by Elin Hilderbrand

Leave a Reply

