Fab Four Friends: The Boys Who Became The Beatles by Susanna Reich

The Beatles

Fab Four Friends

FAB FOUR FRIENDS: THE BOYS WHO BECAME THE BEATLES, by Susanna Reich with illustrations by Adam Gustavson, tells the story of how four young men met and became the world’s most famous band.

“In 1957 in Liverpool, England, a young lad named John Lennon and his band played music at a local church fair. In the audience was Paul McCartney, who liked what he heard and soon teamed up with John. Paul’s friend George Harrison kept showing up at rehearsals until the older boys finally let him in. Eventually they found the perfect drummer, Ringo Starr, and the perfect name: The Beatles.”

FAB FOUR FRIENDS is a nonfiction book for children aged 6-10. The story of the Beatles is one that is somewhat lost for this generation. I remember sitting at the dining room table after a holiday feast a few years ago. My grandchildren were in attendance. My sixteen-year-old grandson did not know who the Beatles were. I was shocked.

I think this is an inspiring book for young people as it tells the story of ordinary boys who were able to make it big through hard work and perseverance. And the illustrations are spectacular!

I grew up with the Beatles. I remember the crazy hair-pulling times. The crying fans swooning in the aisles at concerts. I remember their first tv appearance on Ed Sullivan all those years ago. And my mother was as taken as the young people. I also remember sporting a Beatles haircut. Now you know a little something about me:)

Susanna Reich is the author of one of my favorite children’s books: MINETTE’S FEAST: THE DELICIOUS STORY OF JULIA CHILD AND HER CAT.  Of course I own a copy.

I received a fabulous finished hard copy from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review. I think it’s just fab!

 

2 thoughts on “Fab Four Friends: The Boys Who Became The Beatles by Susanna Reich

  1. Like you, I’ve always been a fan! I’m ordering this for my grandsons, ages 6, 7, and 8; two different families. The info lives on: hoorah!! Hope you do well with your surgery; PT is key. Judy Schubert

  2. Pingback: Chatting with Susanna Reich about Fab Four Friends: The Boys Who Became the Beatles (+ a giveaway!) | Jama's Alphabet Soup

Leave a comment