One Italian Summer by Rebecca Serle

Look closely at this cover! Some of you will recognize one of the most stunning vistas on this earth: Positano, Italy.

I missed Rebecca Serle’s first very successful novel, IN FIVE YEARS. But when I was offered a digital review copy of this novel, well, I jumped at the chance. It didn’t hurt that the novel is set in one of my favorite spots; Positano.

ONE ITALIAN SUMMER is about a young woman’s trip of a lifetime. She’s been through a tragic couple of years. She was supposed to visit Positano with her mother. But her mother was diagnosed with cancer and died before they could go. With her life in tatters, Katy Silvers leaves her husband behind and flies to Positano determined to find out why her mother loved the place so. She gets far more than she bargained for. All in a shockingly good way.

Serle brings the magic of Positano vividly to life like nothing else I’ve read of the area. She has nailed it all. And I know this because my husband and I spent ten glorious days there about ten years ago. Many of the places we visited are introduced here. The food, the scenery, the hotels, the beaches, the balconies overlooking this heaven on earth.

I loved this story. It’s brought back so many memories. And it’s a novel to make you think. What do we really want? What does love really mean? And sometimes we have to leave to come home.

Positano From The Beach

I took this photo of Positano from the beach at the base of the mountain. This is often referenced in ONE ITLIAN SUMMER. This picture encapsulates this city. It’s quite simply remarkable.

I will say that the steps that they mention in the book wore me out. Having seen these and having actually scaled many of the seemingly endless steps to the sky, makes me very happy that I visited here while my knees were still able to do the trek.

Do yourself a favor and read this wonderful novel. I know you’ll absolutely adore it. My review copy of ONE ITALIAN SUMMER was provided by the generous publishing people at Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster in exchange for an honest review. I loved it!

Leave a comment