The Widow of Wall Street by Randy Susan Meyers

Randy Susan Meyers

The Widow of Wall Street

OMG! I loved this book. It’s going to be a great summer read. Ever wondered if Bernie Madoff’s wife was in on his scheme? I certainly have. “The Widow of Wall Street” gives you the best insight into this type of crime. It’s filled with deception, scandal, and guilt. I ate it up.

Phoebe and Jake Pierce met when they were fifteen. They married after college and had two kids.  Jake started climbing the ladder to huge successes with huge investments. He started his own business and became a monumental player in New York City. They were the “it” couple. They moved from Brooklyn to a seaside mansion in Greenwich, then to a penthouse in Manhattan. Over the years, Jake just kept raking in the dough, or so everyone thought.  While his wife was dripping in diamonds and shod in designer pumps, Jake was working overtime, under cover of daylight, to keep things spinning. This scheme went on until Jake was way into his sixties, his children grown with children of their own,  when everything implodes.

The tension in this novel is palpable. And when everything finally comes to a head you are ready to explode.  Even knowing the inevitable outcome, I still found this book riveting. I didn’t expect to love it. After all, I’m looking for great literary novels right now. But I am so glad I took the time to read this one.  It certainly brings new perspective to the question of” what did the wife know?”

Jake Pierce had an ego the size of China.  And everyone bowed to him. After all, he had never lost money. Everyone invested with Jake. We all know that what goes up surely will come down.  But Jake kept thinking he would someday catch up. What about the families when this happens. Terrible things. People are ruined.  Lives are turned upside down. Trust evaporates. Depression sets in.

So what does Phoebe do once Jake goes to prison? And what did she lose? I was actually shocked to find that the feds can even take an old piece of family jewelry and cracked pottery, underwear and sox.

I think you’ll find yourself reading this novel quickly because it’s so compelling.  I’m still not sure how I feel about Phoebe. But I sure do HATE Jake:)

author

Randy Susan Meyers

My review copy came from Atria which is a division of Simon and Schuster. I can’t thank them enough. I loved the book!

Leave a Reply

