We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

Georgia Hunter

We Were the Lucky Ones

I’d been hearing some chatter about this book based on the author’s family history. Since it’s the Holocaust I thought I’d give it a try.

“We Were the Lucky Ones”, by Georgia Hunter, is about the Polish Jewish experience. It begins in 1939 when the Germans are beginning to invade Poland. I am always interested in the Polish aspect of the war since my husband’s family came from there. I was not disappointed with the research Hunter poured into her novel.  However, right out of the gate I felt something off. I wasn’t able to put my finger on it.  But as I continued to read, then continued to put the book aside, I realized it’s the lack of strength in the character development.  I just could not get close to any of them. The story has been done over and over and I find that it is only the very few now that have a unique quality to them that are worthy of my reading time.

Even though this topic is near and dear to my heart, this book is not. It’s just not good enough. I borrowed it from the library. Took a chance. Thumbs down.

6 thoughts on “We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

  1. Thank you for your review and comment, even though it is negative. That is as important to your readers as the positive reviews. Appreciate the heads up.

Leave a Reply

