Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays To All!

a99033_1201_wreath_xlToday I’m reflecting on Christmas Eves years ago when my children were small. There were some years when we didn’t have much money to spend on gifts. Actually, those are the holidays that turned out to be some of the best. I was remembering this morning how on Christmas Eve I used to take my daughter shopping. We would get up early and be gone all day. Lunch on this special day was always an event. And then more shopping, and finally the groceries.  Then I had to wrap everything… But we both look back and smile on those days. They were the best!

What am I reading this Christmas, you may ask? Well, I put down VICTORIA by Daisy Goodwin. But just until after the holiday. I am reading a little holiday paperback called CHRISTMAS IN PARIS by Anita Hughes. I’ve been looking at it for weeks now. Finally, bought it yesterday.  I love it! Perfect for right now when I do not want anything serious. And I am completely immersed in Paris in December…christmas-in-paris

This morning I did one of my favorite things: took myself to the Farmer’s Market here on the Cape. It may be the largest market of its kind anywhere around. Got myself a cup of fresh roasted coffee.  The vendors are local and friendly and have quality produce.  I enjoyed tossing out Merry Christmas’s to all.  Next week I’m hoping to have one of my sons come along. I know he’ll love it.

We had a big family gathering last month for Thanksgiving. It was a blessing. Hard to get everyone on the same page.  So Christmas dinner will be smaller. But, still, there will be nine of us around the table. Jack’s cooking a prime rib and I’m making a black forest cake.

Greandkids2016

Greandkids2016

Last night we watched THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS. OMG! You just have to watch it. Animation has come so far. These animals could jump right off the screen; that’s how realistic they are.  It was so funny. One of our cats, Kiki, actually watched the entire movie. We were almost as amazed watching her watching the movie as we were with the movie itself. Loved it.

Tonight we’re treating ourselves to a nice dinner out.

I do wish each of you a wonderful read this year. And hope you all have at least one good book under the tree.

Merry Christmas!

 

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays To All!

  1. Thank you for the wonderful Christmas and New Year’s wishes. I always look forward to your “posts” and have told many friends about you. I hope to find you in Punta Gorda when we go down to FL this season. Your reviews are the best. Merry Christmas from Ohio to you and your family.

    Kathleen

  2. I, too, enjoy everything you write, be it about books or family. Wishing you a Christmas filled with love, family and friends. Blessings to the New Year.
    Dianna

Leave a Reply

