Paris For One by JoJo Moyes

stories

Paris For One

PARIS FOR ONE, by JoJo Moyes, is a novella.  It’s fun and witty and I read the whole darn thing this afternoon. Boom! There are also several short stories that feature women, and some I found myself laughing out loud at. I am not usually a short story kind of gal. But I trusted JoJo to come through for me, and, she sure did, big-time! I was just tickled pink.

PARIS FOR ONE finds a young Englishwoman named Nell waiting on the Euro Star platform in London. She’s waiting for her so-called boyfriend to arrive. They’re off to Paris for the weekend; her first trip. But, the train is roaring into the station and this “dude” still hasn’t showed up. She texts and texts and finally receives the weakest of answers. He’s tied up at work and will be late. His work is at a surf and scuba-wear shop. But, it’s bloody November!!

So Nell is off on her romantic weekend sans romantic interest. But she’s convinced he will come later and they can meet up at the cute little boutique hotel she’s booked so tenaciously.  Think again. Finally, the text arrives that he is not coming. And then things take an even deeper dive when she arrives at the hotel to discover that the room she’s booked has been double-booked…

Nell goes from being a person you fell desperately sorry for to one you want to fist pump the air over in happiness. Her escapades will have the pages flying as you try to keep up and guess what comes next. The Paris scenes, the Seine, the lovable characters, and the scent of love and happiness will have you smiling widely.  I felt like I spent my afternoon sipping lattes in the cafes of Paris, wandering aimlessly along the Seine looking through used books and artwork, and even floating along this famous river taking in the sights. Aah, Paris.

I loved this book! I read a lot of literary novels. And I totally need a break from them from time to time.  JoJo Moyes NEVER disappoints me. She made my afternoon. I will be telling everyone I know to pick this up and give it a read. Will lift your mood and be your inspiration…

I am so grateful to Pamela Dorman and Viking Books for sending me this delightful new hard cover. Thanks so much.

6 thoughts on “Paris For One by JoJo Moyes

  1. I’ve only read one of her books., i own at least two others of hers but I haven’t read them yet. I really need to. Maybe over Christmas break. Seems like a good time to read them.

    • All of JoJo’s books are really good. They are light, but not too light. Witty and fun. But with great messages. And the novella within this new one is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

