The Dog Days of Summer…

I have three great books to showcase for you today. All three feature great dogs. Even though I am a big-time cat lover I love all animals. Well, most of them:) So I have chosen  three great books about dogs and the people who love them to help get you through those Dog Days of Summer:)

novel

Lily and the Octopus

I will let you know straight away that you will need your hankie for this one. I just realized it is a novel. Nonetheless, be prepared to cry.  People who loved THE ROSIE PROJECT are raving about this one! You are going to love LILY AND THE OCTOPUS by Steven Rowley ( Simon & Schuster).

novel

Jonathan Unleashed

Here comes another great novel featuring  dogs. JONATHAN UNLEASHED by Meg Rosoff( Viking) is  witty and smart.  Nothing like a clever romantic comedy to get you through those, yes, dog days of summer…

Julie Barton

Dog Medicine

DOG MEDICINE by Julie Barton (Penguin) is the only one of the three books here that is actually non-fiction. Julie brings a story that is first hand about depression and how a dog saved her life. Julie was young when hit by a bout of depression that appeared out of the blue for no apparent reason. She was enjoying the best time of her life.  The only thing that brought her out of the hole of depression was a Golden Retriever puppy she named Bunker:)

 

Many thanks to the three amazing publishers that provided copies: Simon & Schuster; Viking; and Penguin.

One thought on “The Dog Days of Summer…

  1. I owned cats all my life but when my cat of 17 years passed away, it took three years for me to get another pet and it ended up being a dog. I SO love dogs now. Of course, I still love both but dogs are just so darn happy to see your return and I never knew how much I needed that at the end of the day until I had a pup! My cat adored me (in his elusive cat way) but it’s just not the same. I’ve had my eye on that first book for awhile.

Leave a Reply

