What Is Copperfish?

Punta Gorda

Copperfish Books

Copperfish is a fabulous little gem of an  independent bookstore located smack dab in the center of the unbustling unmetropolis of Punta Gorda, Florida.  This friendly local store actually sells books; all kinds, brand spanking new and gently used. They also have some very special antique books for those of you who are real bookies. Peppered throughout are the kind of gifts you just can’ t help but pick up. And you’re going to love chatting it up with the owners; two lovely ladies who truly know their stuff.

Copperfish has been in Punta Gorda for four years. They’ve just recently expanded and moved into a larger building near the waterfront. How cool is that! When they called out for a part-time bookseller, well, it made sense that I apply. After all, this has always been my fondest dream; to work in a small independent bookstore. So, I did just that. Guess what? They hired me! I can not tell you how excited I am. I will be working part-time with a small group of real book lovers.  I will be helping them grow their business. More fun!

I have worked for BN for almost eighteen years. I have met some amazing people. Many have become good friends over the years. These friendships will only be enhanced by this new development in my life.

I am still doing book lectures for clubs. I am busier than ever.  I love this aspect of my career. Meeting with all you wonderful book-loving readers every year thrills me to no end.  And I will continue to lecture about books.

I am even more in contact with publishers, agents, and authors than ever before. So don’t think I’m disappearing:)

I will also continue without interruption to work with Elaine Newton on her fabulous Artis-Naples lectures at the Naples Philharmonic.  I am so excited about the upcoming season. We’ve managed to procure two amazing authors at the top of their careers: Melanie Benjamin and Lauren Groff.

I am working in the BN store in Estero at Coconut Point tonight and on Friday until five. Please stop by to see me and find out what books are on fire right now.

I look forward to seeing you at Copperfish Books in Punta Gorda, soon.

10 thoughts on “What Is Copperfish?

  1. Congratulations, Jean! Sounds like a wonderful store and a great opportunity. I love the independent stores and hope to check it out once we are back in Florida.

  2. 103 W. Marion Avenue, Punta Gorda, Florida 33950

    Give me a couple weeks to get acclimated, and then I’d love to see you. I will post my schedule on the blog each week:)

  3. Congratulations, Jean. What a busy woman you will be but we all know you thrive on that! Good luck and will be waiting to hear how everything is moving along nicely for you.

  4. Thanks so much, Pat! I am very excited about this new venture. And I will be posting about it a lot. Plenty of great books coming out soon.

Leave a Reply

