All Summer Long by Dorothea Benton Frank

Dorothea Benton Frank

All Summer Long

I’ve long been a fan of Dorothea Benton Frank. She writes about the Lowcountry. I love that about her. She has a great sense of the place. She should since she lived there for a long time.

Each summer Frank brings us a summertime novel from the South. And I am almost always pleased. This time not so much. I hate saying that but, it is what it is.

ALL SUMMER LONG begins in Manhattan.   A very accomplished decorator is relocating to Sullivan’s Island in South Carolina.  She’s doing this to appease her husband who was raised in the Lowcountry. He is ready to retire there; sit around and read, get mired in the local history, and do some fishing. But he does not realize how low their funds have dwindled to. It didn’t take long to break the bank with bad business decisions. The one client Olivia has managed to keep is soaking in money. This couple has so much money that taking a large group of friends to Necker Island is no big deal.

My problem with this book is the characters, mostly. And Frank has women of a certain age giggling way too much. Over seemingly nothing. The exhibit of wealth becomes smothering at times.  And even though I know there is a message here about friendship and love, it’s not enough for me.

Sadly, I can’t recommend this one. Next year, Dorothea! I look forward to next summer.

One thought on “All Summer Long by Dorothea Benton Frank

  1. I’ve shied away from this author in the past. I like a good summer read but her books seems a little to light for me. Thanks for your honest review though. Sometimes, especially with very popular authors, there is a zinger or two and it’s good to know since many will probably buy just based on name.

Leave a Reply

