My Favorite Author, Pat Conroy, Dies At Age 70.

Favorite author

Pat Conroy

It is a sad day in my heart. Pat Conroy passed away last night at the age of 71. He recently announced that he had an aggressive type of cancer. But he avowed to finish one last book. Little did any of us know he would be gone so soon. To say he will be sorely missed is a gross understatement.

I thank my lucky stars that I was able to meet Pat a few years ago when he spoke at The Miami Book Fair

Jean Pat Conroy at MBF 2010

Jean Pat Conroy at MBF 2010

My friend Danielle and I were in the audience as he regaled us with tales of his childhood and his unbelievably dysfunctional family. He also brought us to tears with memories of helping his mother through her last months of cancer. Pat knew what it was like to fight cancer. And he knew what it was like for the family.

My all-time favorite book is BEACH MUSIC.

Beach Music

Beach Music

Pat outdid himself with this book. I always said I would read a cookbook if he wrote it, and then he did just that.

It’s hard to believe he’s really gone. I will cherish each of his books. Especially my copy of BEACH MUSIC which he personalized for me.

Be in peace! And God bless his wife and family.

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Author, Pat Conroy, Dies At Age 70.

  1. What a beautiful post! How wonderful to read a tribute to an author for a change – he was a true celebrity and will be missed.

  2. Mine too. I also heard Pat speak at the National Book Festival in DC. My favorite was Prince of Tides. I love stories of redemption. He is a lost treasure. Gina Cannon On Mar 5, 2016 9:03 AM, “Maurice on Books” wrote:

    > lomaurice posted: ” It is a sad day in my heart. Pat Conroy passed away > last night at the age of 71. He recently announced that he had an > aggressive type of cancer. But he avowed to finish one last book. Little > did any of us know he would be gone so soon. To say he will ” >

  3. I lived Beach Music! Pat must have had some Jewish blood in him! What a human he was. I hope he saved the last dance for all of us!

Leave a Reply

