In Other Words ( In Attre Parole ) by Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

In Other Words

I have a treat of a book to introduce to you today. IN OTHER WORDS by Jhumpa Lahiri is written in English and Italian!! It’s absolutely stunning.

This is the first nonfiction book written by Pulitzer Prize winner, Jhumpa Lahiri. When my gorgeous finished hard cover arrived from Knopf I very carefully lifted the cover. And when my eyes swept across the pages I was in heaven. The left pages are written in Italian; the right in English. Delightful.  The translation is done by Goldstein.

Jhumpa Lahiri has written award-winning novels and short stories.  This memoir brings us into her personal life.  It allows us to follow her through her life in Italy. Why she was compelled to return to live in Rome with her husband and children. She completely immersed herself in the Italian language and way of life.  Her first trip to Florence in 1994 changed her life forever. She fell in love with a country and language, became obsessed. This book is the outcome of all that. We are the winners here.

Lahiri grew up with English. She is also fluent in her mother tongue: Bengali. She is first to admit that she gropes like a child while writing in Italian. But she can not stop the obsession. This even after twenty years of studying the language.  She began Italian lessons in 2004 while living in Brooklyn.  She says this book is a ” linguistic  autobiography; self portrait.”

Jhumpa Lahiri is a brilliant writer.  I know you are going to want to own a copy of this amazing and quite unique book. I love handling it, reading it, pouring over the Italian, and even smelling the pages:) Yes, I’m a book sniffer.

I received this magnificent book from Knopf in exchange for an honest review. I love it!

2 thoughts on “In Other Words ( In Attre Parole ) by Jhumpa Lahiri

  1. I had no idea that she grew up in Italy. I have to admit, the split format of the book (Italian/English) appeals to me. I looked it up on Amazon and there are some pretty great reviews there so your love of the book is shared by many.

Leave a Reply

