Why We Write About Ourselves edited by Meredith Maran

authors write

Why We Write About Ourselves

WHY WE WRITE ABOUT OURSELVES is a nonfiction book filled with insightful essays written by twenty well-known  authors.

Pat Conory

Pat Conroy

I can’t resist reading anything Pat Conroy writes. He is one of the twenty authors included. I immediately turned to his pages. Chapter four, page 37. I can not get enough of this amazing author. He writes fiction and nonfiction with equal talent. He is my favorite writer of all time. I don’t say this lightly. There are many great authors I hugely admire but, Pat is THE one for me. He tells it like it is. It’s certainly no secret that he spent most of his life writing novels about his family. He kept trying to rid himself of all the pain. I wonder if he’s done writing family. I sure hope not. He’s kept me rapt on the end of my seat for years. Even as I sit here writing this post I am wondering what he is working on next….

Anne Lamott has a chapter. BIRD BY BIRD is one of THE most used books on writing in the world today. She writes mostly novels and Christian books.

Sue Monk Kidd has a chapter. She’s written her share of memoir pieces. But she’s best known for her novels.

Author

Sue Monk Kidd

I really enjoy hearing what famous authors have to say about how and why they write what they do. I find that as they become older their reasons may change.  In this book you’ll see that Pat Conroy could give a rat’s ass which one of his relatives gets their feelings hurt over something he wrote about them. Then there’s Sue Monk Kidd who says she believes we should use discretion in writing about real people. Wouldn’t that be a great panel? Conroy and Kidd:)

Since memoirs have become so wildly popular the past few years  Maran decided to put together this book of essays. It’s a book you will want to hang onto. You can easily pick it up and put it down. Is perfect for bedside.

I received my review copy from PenguinRandomHouse in exchange for an honest review. It’s just great

Leave a Reply

