Slow Fires by Justin Smillie

Mastering new ways to braise, roast, and grill.

Slow Fires

I requested this cookbook from Blogging For Books because I am a huge fan of braising.  For those of you who think it’s difficult, well, I’m here to tell you braising is a piece of cake.

What did I think of this book? The word disappointment come to mind. I hate saying it.  But I found the entries so unique that it was off-putting. In fact, I had a difficult time finding something I actually think I can write about.

The book gives you chapters about the fundamentals of braising, roasting, and grilling. From there it blossoms into extremely unique recipes. I thought, “Oh, what a great idea!” But,  not so much.  Things such as Sicilian Kale-stuffed turkey legs and Panless roast duck with squash, cipollini onions, and caper oil, are just way off my radar. And, my husband and I are big foodies. We’ve both worked in the restaurant business and enjoy cooking and enjoying unusual foods.

I will make the spinach and goat cheese salad with shallot vinaigrette.  There is no photo of it, but it seems easy to make and sounds delicious.  He is smearing the goat cheese on a chilled plate. The hand-tossed spinach is then gingerly placed on the top.  The dressing is drizzled on. Even this is unique.

I would love to have given this book a better review, however, it is what it is.’ I will say that the basic lessons are very good.

I received this cookbook from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review, which you are reading here.

Leave a Reply

