Giveaway! A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton

Jackie Copleton

A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding

A DICTIONARY OF MUTUAL UNDERSTANDING, by Jackie Copleton, is a real treat for my readers.  And how cool that I have a giveaway copy! I will need you to leave a comment below. Only U.S. addresses, please. And no P.O. boxes, as usual. Good luck! I will choose my winner on Dec. 1.

This is a beautiful novel of remarkable loss, regret, and forgiveness. You’ll find yourself completely enmeshed in the story of Ama, Kuko, and Hideo, before, during, and after the bombing of Nagasaki on August 9, 1945. All the world changed for so many people living in Japan. This is the story of one family…

In the tradition of MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA and THE PIANO TEACHER,  a heart-wrenching debut novel of family, forgiveness, and the exquisite pain of love.”

Nagasaki

Jackie Copleton

When Amaterasu Takahashi opens the door of her home in Philadelphia to a disfigured man who claims to be her grandson, she doesn’t believe it. Of course not. Her grandson Hideo was killed along with his mother Kuko nearly forty years ago during the bombing of Nagasaki.  And the story grabs  you by the throat!

Unspeakable loss and regret are the recurring themes in this wonderful new novel.  Written by someone who truly lived in Nagasaki, Copleton has managed to capture the essence of the country and its manners. Along with the colorful people and their customs. Copleton lived in Nagasaki for two years in the 1990’s. And it shows.

Here’s a link to a fabulous Book Club Kit. Book Club Kit

The very generous publishing people at PenguinRandom House are supplying my giveaway copy! Thanks so much.

Advertisements

15 thoughts on “Giveaway! A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton

  1. I like reading books about Japan because I lived there for a year.
    While there I did a lot of traveling and visited Nagasaki and Hiroshima. It was very sad to see the memorials. It makes you think especially the way things are now.
    Diann
    .

  2. This sounds wonderful. I loved Memoirs of a Geisha and was born soon after the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, so it resonates with me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s