Fall of Princes by Robert Goolrick

Robert Goolrick

Fall of Princes

New from the author of A RELIABLE WIFE and  HEADING OUT TO WONDERFUL, comes THE FALL OF PRINCES by Robert Goolrick.

You could call this the literary version of THE WOLF OF WALL STREET. It would more than fit the bill!

I expected something a bit different from Goolrick.  I had forgotten about his background. He’s actually written a memoir , THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT.  If I had read that I would definitely been more prepared for the rawness in THE FALL OF PRINCES.  With that said, I am warning some of my more mild-mannered readers (and you know how you are:)) that this novel contains endless sex and drugs.

Having said all that above, I found the novel terribly intriguing. Goolrick is using a character named Rooney to move his plot along. Rooney is one of those guys who made it big beyond belief as a Wall Street “gladiator” in the glittering 1980’s in New York City. By going back and forth in time, while at the top of his game, to when he was spiraling to below the bottom, Goolrick manages to keep you on your toes. This author has a magical way of grabbing you and making you listen.

I read Goolrick’s A RELIABLE WIFE a few years ago when it came out. I was a bit taken back by some of the content, but I absolutely thrived on the story. What a read! Then came, HEADING OUT TO WONDERFUL. Another total winner for me and everyone I know who read it.  But those two books are totally different.

author

Robert Goolrick

Rooney has made it to the top of Wall Street. His success is beyond anything you can imagine. Unless, of course, you’ve seen the movie or read the book called, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET. And, when I discovered that Goolrick himself, pretty much lived this experience, well, now I just have to read the memoir.

It is hard to believe the unlimited wealth experienced by these young men and women back in this hay day. So what did it feel like while in the midst of this rich haze? And then how did it feel spiraling into the nothingness of the afterlife? How can this happen to a human being. We are mere mortals. And there is so  much greed.

I love that as Rooney is down and out  we find him working at a Barnes and Noble Bookstore in NYC.  Quite a way to fall pay wise.

Those of you who loved Goolrick’s other books are going to enjoy reading his novel approach to his own reality. Don’t let the rawness scare you away. Put your big girl panties on, or, throw caution to the wind, and don a thong:) Just kidding.

This book came to me for review upon my request from Algonquin Books. I am thankful. And, yes, I did enjoy the read!

 

2 thoughts on “Fall of Princes by Robert Goolrick

  1. Hey, LOMAURICE – if you tried really hard, I think you could read a little faster, couldn’t you? What an amazing reviewer you are – thanks again. Don’t know how you do it.

Leave a Reply

