Recovery Update

I am now six weeks out from complete hip replacement of my right hip.  It was definitely a success! However, it is not so easy now that I have taken myself off the BIG pain meds. I actually had to wean myself off them because of extreme side affects. So, instead of easing off, I went whammo. No choice. I am now taking two extra strength Tylenol about every six hours, and at night two of the nighttime ones. It is helping. But, let me tell you, the doctors need to give people recovering more information on these medicines and how to get off them. For two days I was ready to throw myself off a bridge. Exhausted, depressed, sick stomach, and other ills I will not mention…

I have four weeks before I will be returning to work. I am just beginning to feel like there is a light at the end of the tunnel. After feeling like the belle at the ball while on the heavy meds, I went to feeling like the deadbeat of the ball quickly. But, I am coming out of it. I have had some good advice from good friends which helps immensely.

One thing I have been able to do without any trouble is READ. This is a good thing. I have a slew of great books all around me. In fact, so many that it’s overwhelming. Wading through them figuring out which ones to actually focus on and promote. They have been landing on the doorstep from UPS almost daily. After all, fall is the big time for new books.

NYC 1977

City On Fire

For instance, this huge tome coming in at over 900 pages landed by my door the other day. Boom! It’s getting lots of chatter.  Will it live up to it’s full potential? I will let you know in a couple weeks.

I want to thank all of you who have been so kind and left comments about my recovery. That is why I felt compelled to write this post. I’m not usually one to post about my personal ills, but sometimes it’s necessary:)

8 thoughts on “Recovery Update

  1. What you have been through sounds very scary – however, we hear many things about pain meds and their side effects. So sorry you have had to go through this – hope you have turned the corner now and will be feeling great very soon.

    • Pat, I am already feeling like I am turning the corner. I think talking about it helped. Little by little, taking my time. Not hurrying. Thanks so much for your kind words.

  2. Dear Jean,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your painful recovery. I am thinking of you and sympathizing with you. I remember that sometimes even reading was a struggle! Be kind to yourself. May a book carry you away and ease your recovery.
    We’re looking forward to being the lucky recipients of all your book travel wisdom in November.
    Fondly,
    Diane Carel

    • Thanks so much! I am having a good day today. Feeling quite creative. Have begun working on your lecture:) I look forward to seeing you all.

  3. Glad to hear your feeling better and your hip surgery was a success….as a nurse, I agree that pain management is often times more problematic that the surgery/injury….acetaminophen/tylenol is a wonderful drug….it does have a maximum dose in 24/hr period of 3,000mg…..good to keep in mind as extra-strength and nighttime formulas have 500-750mg in each pill. Wishing you continued improvement and looking forward to your review on “City on Fire”

  4. Thanks Beth! I can tell you that I am being extremely careful with the Tylenol. In fact, I don’t take as much as I could. One day at a time. I shall keep you posted.

  5. I so enjoy your reviews and happy to read your recovery update. Do agree that the surgeons should inform us of our expectations, certainly different for each one of us. Hope you do well over the next four weeks and enjoy your “kitties.” Happy Reader, Reg

  6. So glad you are on the mend, but sorry to hear of the difficulty with the pain killers. Do take care and don’t do too much too soon. Enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

