Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

memoir

Big Magic

Here it is folks. Elizabeth Gilbert’s BIG MAGIC, a  non-fiction book about living your creative life without fear. I’ve been looking forward to this book. I love the way Gilbert writes. She has a way about her that is “come as you are.” She writes with authority and love. She’s done it all the real way. She loves what she does.

The first thing is to take a look at the cover. What do you see? Really look at it. This cover was created by Helen Yentus, the art director for Riverhead Books.  She also created the cover for EAT, PRAY, LOVE.   Remember the beads and pasta and flower petals? Now,  you do. Yentus makes no bones about it: it was hard to do.  She wanted it to be explosive. It certainly is.  It’s just like Gilbert.

BIG MAGIC is for people of all ages who are out there wanting to create. Those people who are nervous, some scared to death. She gives witty information that will help you out of your comfort zone. She also speaks frankly about what other people think. “And she says outright that you won’t be completely free of what other’s think until you reach your sixties or seventies, when you finally realize this liberating truth –nobody was ever thinking about you, anyhow.”

Imperfection is another matter Gilbert tackles with honesty. She says the only reason she was able to persist in completing her first novel was that she allowed herself to be stupendously imperfect. (Her words.)It made her nuts to do it, however, she had a finished book.

One of the best parts of the book for me is the chapter about schooling. Or, I should say, the lack there of.  She makes the point that only so much can be taught to people about learning to become a writer. It’s the actual writing itself that is going to do the teaching. And reading great writers. When she speaks about big degrees for writers not being the end all, plus, costing small fortunes, I took pause. Perked up. Then she says: ” Twelve North American writers have won the Nobel Prize in Literature since 1901: not one of them had an MFA. Four of them never even got past high school. That is an OMG! moment for me.

Okay, enough of that. I have to tell you that Elizabeth’s voice shines through each sentence. She writes as she speaks. She’s sparkling, realistic, and full of life.  What she brings to these pages can help you become the creative person you’ve wanted to be for so long.

I read this gifted book in spurts, picking it up and reading a few chapters, then going about my business. It has helped me get back on my feet after surgery, and it gives me inspiration to keep writing…

I can’t thank my friends at Riverhead Books enough for sending me a review copy. I loved this book. And I will reread it over and over again!

Crativity

Elizabeth Gilbert

One thought on “Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

Leave a Reply

