Giveaway! Home Fires by Julie Summers

WW11

Home Fires

Boy have I got something special for you today! Penguin is hosting my giveaway. I  have one copy of HOME FIRES, by Julie Summers, for giveaway. This is a keeper.

HOME FIRES is Julie Summers’ fascinating social history of the Women’s Institute during World War 11. This remarkable true story is the basis for the Masterpiece series premiering this Fall on PBS. If you are a fan of Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife, this one is sure to bring a smile to your face and put a sparkle in your eyes.

This is a non-fiction telling of ordinary women who were working behind the lines of the war to serve their country. The Women’s Institute was  real. Your mind will be on fire as you read about all the “other” issues they took care of.  You’re going to get an intimate look at life on the home front during WW11.

I can’t tell you how excited my husband and I are about this upcoming series that was set and filmed in Cheshire, England. I hope you will all leave comments below. You are going to want to read this book! Thanks Penguin!

Please your comment below. No P.O. addresses, please, and only U.S. addresses. I will choose one winner on Saturday, Sept. 26. Good luck!

25 thoughts on “Giveaway! Home Fires by Julie Summers

  1. As a daughter of a mom who served in WWII, I feel a special affinity toward all of the women who served our country. It would be an honor and a pleasure to receive this book. Thanks for the opportunity.

  2. I am a devotee of English History (my minor in college) and am particularly interested in anything to do with England’s role in WWII, having read Churchill, Eden, and Chamberlain biographies, as well as the Lynne Olsen books, Troublesome Young Men, and all her others from these times. This new book sounds so up my alley and I would love to read it.

  3. This sounds like a very interesting book – would love to read it.

    Diane Markman

    19462 Bridgewater Drive

    Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971

  4. This looks like a very intriguing book and TV series. I like that it is based on a true story of ordinary women helping their country. Thanks for the giveaway.

Leave a Reply

