Maurice Is Getting A New Hip Next Week!

Wow, I’m having a total replacement of my right hip next week. I am excited and nervous, of course. I’ve been dealing with a tear in my hip for four years. And when an x-ray was done in May, alas, it was discovered that I am bone on bone in that hip. Hm. Gave me reason to pause. But once I began doing my own research on hip replacement I knew it was the right thing for me.

I’m  getting all my ducks in a row. I have a check list for the hospital. I have a phone number for a nurse on call at any hour of day or night; this through my fabulous insurance. And I am getting the house all prepared.

We have three kittens. Two are only four months old. They have almost stopped thinking our legs are trees:) But I will have to be most careful round the house. In addition to removing any throw rugs or cat’s blankets from the floors, I must watch closely for darting kitties.

I am sharing this information with you because I feel it is important to be informed. I know there are some of you out there who have probably already had this surgery. I would love to hear from you. I have yet to hear a bad thing about it. It has all been positive feedback, so far.

I have plenty to read and will only be spending a couple nights in the hospital. I have requested no visitors as I will be in the hospital a short time, and not at my best.  I have been told sweets are not good for people recovering from surgery as they actually cause the pain to worsen. Oh, my. Now that is news I did not know. And, of course, since I will be on a blood thinner, I am restricted to NO green veggies. Never thought I’d hear that.

All in all it is a good thing and I am looking forward to being able to run around the store and play with my books again. Meanwhile, I have stacks and stacks of great books coming in from the so-generous publishers every day.  I will be able to keep you posted on the newest books coming out.

I want to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you for following my blog. It is hard to believe I have over 700 followers. I will keep you posted on my recovery. And hope to see many of you this coming season either in the store or at my lectures.

28 thoughts on “Maurice Is Getting A New Hip Next Week!

  1. GOOD LUCK–thanks for sharing. I feel like you are a Flossmoor, IL book club friend. Use many of your reviews to choose books for my 3 book clubs and friends I share with. Haven’t had to have hip surgery, so sorry, no comments, but you are positive and that is half the battle. Can’t believe you have taken in 3 kittens–busy household for sure. Keep writing, I’ll keep reading and I will get back to Naples one of these winters and make a visit.

  2. Lots of friends have gone through this and come out just fine. Enjoy your blog and look forward to seeing you in person in Bonita Springs in October. I wonder what’s on your bedside table right now. Thanks for all your reviews and comments. Karen

  3. My best wishes to you for a speedy recovery. I had a spinal fusion a month ago so I, too, am in recovery. I haven’t had a THR but I did have a spiral fracture of my femur many years ago and the surgeon said the surgery was the same technique as a hip surgery. In addition, I’ve had two other back surgeries. Bad bones! My one piece of advice for you that nobody shared with me is quite simple. If you are a pajama lady, make sure you have some nightgowns for your return home. You won’t like anything around your waist when it isn’t necessary.

  4. Best of luck to you! I have had a hip done and it is piece of cake ! Just do everything they tell you to do. Now the knee is a different thing. I had one done last October and am still wincing when I stand you will be in my thoughts . As Always, Anne Mahr

  5. I will be thinking of you next week and wishing you a speedy recovery. I’ve no doubt that you are doing the right thing. May I suggest a book for you? Our Souls at Night by Ken Haruf. Take this time to pamper yourself – and read.

  6. Sounds like a wise choice. I know you will enjoy even more reading time and I look forward to your reviews! Best of luck with all and do take care!

  7. Know you will do just fine – you will be in our prayers and we will be anxious to hear it is all over and you are recuperating beautifully. Good luck!

  8. Good luck, I got a new knee in Feb. at NCH and have done very well rehabbed as Inpatient. Lots of PT Credit that to my well being. I’ll pray for you Ellie Smith

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. Good luck with your surgery! I have several friends who have had hip replacements and all had great outcomes!
    Sending positive thoughts your way for a speedy recovery! Let Jack take care of you!!💜

  10. Thank you all for your warm thoughts! I will continue to post reviews and giveaways. I will have some on automatic pilot until I am up and about. I do not think it will be for long. And, yes, I have a slew of great review copies of upcoming books to read while I am recuperating.

  11. Jean, I had a hip replacement last September. Are you having the anterior/ newer type surgery or the posterior/more traditional approach? I had the anterior. If that is what you are having, I will share experiences. Whichever, I hope it goes very smoothly with no hiccups!

  12. You are certainly in the right place for replacement surgery. Naples is one of the top areas in the country for knee and hip replacements. They have it down pat. My husband had knee replacement a couple of years ago and several friends have had hip replacement. All have been very successful. Just follow the doctor’s instructions and do your physical therapy diligently.

    You will be amazed how quickly you will be up walking around. Hoping you will have a speedy recovery.

    Diane Sutta

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  13. I wish you a very speedy recovery. Hips heal well and quickly. Listen to your physio and keep moving. I know that all 700+ of your blog friends are sending you vibes of strength.

  14. Best to you. All my relatives got new hips and they were in there 80’s! I’m sure you will be fine. I did not know about green vegetables and blood thinners.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  15. Wishing you a speedy recovery! Lots of prayers are heading your way. I’ll be looking for you at B & N when I am in Naples this winter. Thanks for all your wonderful reviews.

  16. Thinking of you and wishing you the best…..my 87 year old aunt had a hip replacement in April, and was up and around very quickly! I’m sure you’ll do great.

    Jeanne

  17. Jean, best of luck with your new hip. Will be sendings prayers your way for a speedy recovery. Will look for you at B&N this Fall. Enjoy your reviews and respect your opinion! Kathleen

Leave a Reply

