Vrska’s Passing

My mother was rushed to the ER in Naples, Florida last Wednesday. She is a resident at Lakeside Pavilion in Naples. The DR. there could not get her heart beat stable. So off she went. I got the call on my way home from work. I had just been to the printer to have programs printed for the lecture I was giving on Thursday. I battled awful traffic driving to Naples at the height of the season, something I had promised I would not do this year. The bottom line is that I was in the ER almost all night with mom. My son Craig drove from his home on Pine Island, two hours away, to be with us. Mom was admitted and yet not taken up to her real room until Friday at noon. Nightmare. No beds. Mom kept deteriorating daily. At times she just did not make sense. I told the nurses and doctors that mom was not herself. She’s always been very sharp. Her hearing got so bad that she was almost deaf. They found a blood clot on her lung. And diagnosed her with a lung virus. She just did not have the strength to fight the pneumonia that appeared. Finally, late last night, mom passed at Avow Hospice. I am grateful to the nursing staff at NCH for all the nurturing and loving care they showered on my mom. Six days and nights have taken an emotional toll on me. Even though my mom was 89, and I thought I was prepared, I was not.

We are picturing my mom being welcomed into her new world by her mother and grandmother, and, the host of our family kitties that have gone before her.

Mom 80th BD

Mom 80th BD

I am taking some time off work to recover. I am hoping to be able to read again soon.

We will have a private celebration of life for mom in April. Rest well, mom. Now you can finally breathe easy again.

Photo was taken nine years ago on mom’s 80th BD.

This is how we wish to remember her.

22 thoughts on “Vrska’s Passing

  1. So, so sorry to read this, I will say prayers for you, I feel your heartache, our mothers hold a special place with us like no other

  2. Sorry to hear of your loss, your Mom I’m sure is in a better place. My prays and thoughts go out to you and your family.

  3. Oh my goodness – how sad for you! Our deepest sympathy. You are right, we are never prepared for this. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

  4. I’m so sorry for the loss of your mother and know it is so poignant, regardless of age — theirs or ours.  In sympathy, Pat Barton

  5. So sorry for your loss. Hope you take all the time needed to grieve . Surely she lived a good long life but a loss for those left behind nonetheless

  6. I offer my condolences, it is so hard when we lose a loved one. What wonderful thoughts about her being welcomed in her new world. Regards, Diane Markman

  7. Death is never easy….especially when it is a close family member. Sorry for your loss…..you’ve had an especially difficult time….losing your cats and now your mother

  8. Having recently lost my father, I can relate. His was a long time illness that did him him and it was still a shock to actually lose him. I’m sorry sorry for your loss. Getting a lot of sleep does help tremendously so be sure to get your rest if you can.

  9. My prayers go out to you Jean. I lost my mom just 3 months ago and I know the heartache you are feeling. Not a day goes by that I don’t miss her. You were a wonderful daughter and I’m sure your mother is looking down from Heaven watching over you. May your happy memories of her comfort you during this difficult time. Carol Starman 💜

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  10. I am so sad for you Jean. Your Mom must have been so proud of you and all your accomplishments. Your wound will never heal completely but it will close over and you will remember Mom with happiness. Go hug your grandchildren. Its the only balm that helps. Your (Canadian) friend,Judi.

  11. I’m so very sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. No one can fill a mother’s place. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  12. Rest well Vrska. And our caring thoughts to you, Jean, and your loved ones. May the gift of healing be with you. And indeed Vrska is a wonderful name!
    Sue Terry

  13. Please accept my sincerest sympathy. I lost my best friend, my mom, several years ago. I still miss her and not a day goes by that I don’t think of her. Cherish all the wonderful memories you have of your mom. They will bring you comfort in the days and weeks ahead.
    Kathy Noonan

  14. GM Elaine–I realized I did not even know your name and couldn’t call you “Maurice” Now I Know!!
    I so look forward to your reviews and blog and am not one to respond, but reading about your Mom moved me to tears and compassion. This is a road we never want to travel nor are we prepared. I admire you for being able to write so early and with such feeling (as you always do). I’ve been down that Naples hospital road with my husband “in season” and not one to remember. We live in IL and can no longer winter in Paradise 😦 His health is deteriorating gradually and continually so reading is my escape and books on CD free my hands still allowing me to enjoy wonderful literature–many titles that you write about and suggest. I started reading you in the Naples News, signed up for your blog and got hooked. We seem to be connected in a way– so enjoy your reviews and suggestions. My other world was working in the library, both schools and public. If I could go back into the work world again, I would love a good book store, unfortunately they are disappearing slowly. I belong to 3 book groups and keeping up is a task. Not sure how you manage to read so much, so fast. I appreciate and enjoy your “personal” stories as well as I have felt I knew your beloved cat friends and I too love Paris and Italy.
    Will be reading and discussing AJ Fikry in April as well. Just finished The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye–try it. I admire you for taking this time out for you to heal and regenerate. You will miss your Mom, but her memories will always be with you. She is a beautiful lady–thanks for sharing her.
    A fan indeed (this is not my usual demeanor, but wanted you to know others are out there)–
    Chris Schmitt–waiting and hoping for Spring to come to Illinois–love where you are–it’s Paradise!!

  15. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Memories will sustain you. Take
    comfort and care for yourself and your family.

  16. I want to thank everyone who’s left me a message. So many kind words and thoughtful notes. It means so much. I am taking time out to catch my breath. Today, I decided to work on the lanai with my plants. Mom would love this. She always was the one with the green thumb. I didn’t inherit it until about fifteen years ago. It was appropriate to be up to my neck in plants today. And after the winter they all needed attention. With me was my new companion, Miss Mimi, who as most of you know is my five month old flame-point Siamese kitten.

  17. So sorry to hear about your Mother. Hearing it brings back the time I lost my Mother several years ago at about the same age. We were lucky to have them so long. It is a life-changing event and you never forget and have great memories to sustain you. Prayers and thoughts are with you.

    Kathleen Mottice

Leave a Reply

