Vanessa And Her Sister by Priya Parmar

Priya Parmar

Vanessa and her Sister

Ballantine Books says of VANESSA AND HER SISTER, by Priya Parmar, ” A captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell and her sister, Virginia Woolf- and the controversial and popular circle of writers and artists known as the Bloombury Group.

I have not read much about Virginia Woolf, and knew nothing at all of  her sister Vanessa Bell. Now that I discovered this insightful novel full of meaty scenes from the lives of these women and their friends and relatives, I find I am charmed by them to the nth degree.

This very sophisticated novel is set in London in the early 1900’s  Parmar has brought to life the era of this extremely influential group of artists and writers who came to shape much of writing and painting for the future.  Full of passion, conflict, and even wit, VANESSA AND HER SISTER charmed me. It kept me engaged. I found myself learning plucky things about these famous characters that I had not even imagined before.

Parmar writes with vigor and imagination. She brings the world of the Bloomsbury Group to light in a way we can all understand and enjoy learning about.  And Parmar has an innate ability to draw you into the world of another time in an alluring and provocative way.

I am going to go out on a limb and predict that VANESSA AND HER SISTER will be an important novel this coming year. I know I will be taking it to all my book lectures this season. Don’t miss it. Great for bookclub discussions.

My review copy arrived from Random House. I am grateful, as always.

Leave a Reply

