Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand

Nantucket

Winter Street

I just finished reading Elin Hilderbrand’s WINTER STREET. This year I decided to read more than one  holiday book if I could find more than one that  I would like. Since I am a huge fan of Hilderbrand, I thought this would be a great read. And it was quite good.

I knew this story would take place on Nantucket Island. All Elin’s books do. But I have already read one Christmas novel that takes place on Nantucket. Well, I decided that should not stop me reading another one.

I was a bit disappointed with the start of this story. I thought it too silly.  Innkeepers on the island preparing for the upcoming Christmas holiday. But the character of Mitzi almost put me over the edge. Her husband is Kelley. It is Kelley’s second marriage. He has grown children and grandchildren from a previous marriage.  We discover almost immediately that Mitzi has been more than a little friendly with the family friend who plays Santa Claus each year at the inn. In fact, she and Santa have been having a holiday affair for years! And now she is leaving Kelley for Santa. Okay, sounds pretty silly, right?

Suddenly the story kicks in. The setting begins to ring true and the characters start acting like real people. When I found myself wanting to know what was going to happen, I knew it actually was a good story. It’s not your holiday feel good novel. It has all the family angst one family can handle. And there are loose ends that do not get tied up neatly. However, this is Elin Hilderbrand writing this story. And she always has something important to say. And let’s face it, life is not always tied up nicely.

I was lucky enough to receive a review copy of WINTER STREET from Little Brown publishing. Thank you so much. I so look forward to Elin’s summer novel 2015. And I wish her the best health ever.

One thought on “Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand

  1. It sounds like a good read. I was drawn to the cover the first time I saw it, and now with your recommendation, I think I will give it a try. Thank you for a lovely write up of the book!

Leave a Reply

