Giveaway: More Awesome Than Money by Jim Dwyer. And Announcing Winner of An Unseemly Wife by E.B. Moore

Jim Dwyer

More Awesome Than Money

If you’re reading this blog post, you’re online. That means your privacy is vulnerable. MORE AWESOME THAN MONEY, by Jim Dwyer, is full of sometimes scary information about social media, in particular, Facebook.

The subtitle of this expose is “Four Boys and Their Heroic Quest to Save Your Privacy from Facebook.” I have become more and more cautious what I put on social media. After all, there it is, out there for most anyone with access to a computer to see.  Even then, I got the strangest message from a total stranger on Facebook a few weeks ago. This from a guy from England who wanted to meet me because he liked the way I look. I was shocked. Then I received a second message asking me to please respond saying he was a widower with children looking for a relationship. REALLY! So I know that privacy is fleeting no matter how much caution is taken.

Jim Dwyer has written a careful and informative book about four young idealists who actually failed at their attempt to create a more noble social network. Dwyer is the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist who wrote 102 MINUTES. He resides in NYC. He also writes a column called “About New York” for the Times.

I have one copy of MORE AWESOME THAN MONEY, by Jim Dwyer, for giveaway. Please leave a comment below. Only U.S. addresses, and no P.O. boxes, please. I will choose a winner Friday, October 24. Good luck. And thanks go out to Viking publishing, a partner of penguin/random house.

******************************

The winner of AN  UNSEEMLY WIFE by E.B. Moore is….Karen Turono! Congrats Karen. I will contact you by email to get your mailing address. Book will come straight from publisher.

6 thoughts on “Giveaway: More Awesome Than Money by Jim Dwyer. And Announcing Winner of An Unseemly Wife by E.B. Moore

  1. I’m not on Facebook, but all my grandkids are and it worries me. Would like to get more information to share with them. Pat

  2. Would love to have this book. I have six grandchildren who could benefit from this information. Looking forward to finding you in the Barnes & Noble at Coconut Point next week. Thanks for all your great posts.

Leave a Reply

