Eat By Nigel Slater

Nigel Slater

Eat

EAT is a cookbook written by one of my favorite food writers: Nigel Slater. When I discovered this was being offered through Blogging For Books, well, I was beside myself with excitement.

I received EAT, by Nigel Slater, from Blogging For Books in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This is a more compact cookbook than Slater’s others. It’s meant to be.  It’s like he says,” Sometimes, we just want to eat.” And this smaller book is for those times.

With over 600 recipes, it doesn’t seem small. But compared to the other tomes, it is. He starts with a list of main ingredients, then moves on to recipes from soup to nuts.  Small photos accompany each recipe.  And I like that.  However, this is not my favorite of Slater’s cookbooks. The cover is dull. U.K. cover has his photo. This one is just dull. And so many of the recipes are a bit over the top for our country. Even though this edition of EAT has been edited especially for an American audience, I fear this is not enough. Mind you, I see some recipes in this book that I will give a try but,  this book is a disappointment for me. I hate saying it, but there it is.

I own two other cookbooks by Nigel Slater.

Nigel Slater

TENDER

I received TENDER  a couple years ago. The photos in this fabulous book are beyond amazing. The recipes are both unique and wonderful.

Nigel Slater

Notes From The Larder

Then came NOTES FROM THE LARDER. Of course I had to have that one last year for Christmas. I Love it.

Nigel Slater

Ripe

And, now I believe I simply must have RIPE to complete my collection!

One thought on “Eat By Nigel Slater

  1. Ever since I went gluten free, I’ve stopped buying cookbooks. I find that the gluten free ones have ingredients that are way too pricey. I end up adapting tried and true dishes to make them gluten free. But I do miss cookbooks. Especially the pictures.

Leave a Reply

