Marine Park by Mark Chiusano

short stories

Marine Park

Marine Park by Mark Chiusano is a book of short stories written by a promising young writer who has nailed the sense of place: the lesser-known area in Brooklyn, New York.

Publisher’s Weekly says, ” A promising debut…23-year-old Chiusanlo revisits his native Brooklyn-Brooklyn-specifically, Marine Park. The neighborhood, distinguished by its salt marshes, canals, and large waterfront park, serves as the collection’s focal point, bringing together a multigenerational cast of characters.”

I rarely read short stories. Most of you know this.  And, I will say, this book of shorts if geared more toward a younger audience, I think. However, having said this, I will say the writing is edgy and the characters are well-fleshed out. The sense of place is spot-on. And this is a quick read.

I was able to relate to the story called AIR CONDITIONING. Brought back memories of summertime in Delaware where I grew up. Most people did not have air conditioners in their homes in the late fifties and early sixties. I remember having a window fan in my bedroom that I would use only when needed. So when this family brought in first one air conditioner, then another, then another, it made me smile, and remember.  What on earth would we do without air conditioning here in S.W. Florida where I live now? Well, honestly, it would be a much less populated place.

If you’re looking for a quick summer read, and you love stories, this is for you.

My review copy came from Penguin. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

