A New Beginning

Things are heating up here in Southwest Florida. The air is just beginning to change, slightly. That’s the weather. It’s the roads that are experiencing the most change. They are starting to fill up with the winter folk. Yes, the snow birds are arriving, slowly but surely.  But that’s not all that’s changing. I’m making a parallel move within my store. For fourteen years I’ve quite literally run my feet off as I worked the information desks in Naples first, then the new Estero Barnes & Noble store. I love what I do. Not only is it fun, it’s rewarding. And I get to see every new book that arrives. However, things are changing within our company and we booksellers have to adjust. I will still be able to support my Maurice On Books table and my octagon near the music entrance of our store. And I will have a bay full of great titles at the cash wrap where I will be working most of the time.  Not having to spend every moment running the floor will hopefully help save both my feet and hips:) I will be on the floor, just not as much. I will, however, be available to my clients,as necessary.  This should be a win/win for both me and the store, as now I will be more involved with the store as a whole.

I am almost finished with my rehab. I am not pain free, but am well on my way. Next week I return to my full-time status. It’s been a long time coming.

I am also gearing up for my seasonal lectures. Many clubs are already on the books for this Fall and the Spring of 2014. I have so many important new titles to introduce. You will surely want to read all of them. It’s been a challenge keeping up with them all this year. But an exciting one.

Erika Robuck

Fallen Beauty

Speaking of new books, I’m currently reading Erika Robuck’s upcoming novel about the poet Edna St. Vincent Millay. It will be published in March of 2014. It’s not only full of great characters and place settings, it’s scandalous and based on Millay’s real life. What a witchy woman she was. Perfectly fascinating.

My next read will be Wally Lamb’s WE ARE WATER. I look forward to getting into it.  It looks like he’s outdone himself this time.

I look forward to seeing you at the store and at the lectures.

Hope everyone is having a great Fall.

3 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. So glad you are keeping the table (and list, I hope). I nook wishlist all your column recommendations. It makes it easy to purchase my next “read”. Thanks for all you do. Barnes and Noble should have you go “national”!

  2. This sounds like it will be much better for you and all of us. Hope to see you soon, and that your rehab will have you as good as new.

  3. You reminded me that I need to start We Are Water.

    Change in the workplace can be a good thing, but it’s a bit stressful or can be, until things work themselves out and you get a routine going. It will be good and I am glad you get to keep your table 😉

Leave a Reply

