Elaine Newton’s Critic’s Choice Lecture Series 2013-2014

Elaine Newton’s lecture list for the  upcoming season is out!

Thursday, November 14, 2013: SWEET TOOTH by Ian McEwan

Thursday, December 5: LIFE AFTER LIFE by Kate Atkinson

Thursday, January 9: THE ROUND HOUSE by Louise Erdrich

Thursday, February 13: THE INTERESTINGS by Meg Wolitzer

Thursday, March 6: THE DINNER by  Herman Koch

Thursday, April 10: A HOLOGRAM FOR THE KING by Dave Eggers

There’s the line-up! I have only read three, so far. One I will not read. And the Eggers looks very interesting to me.  Speaking of THE INTERESTINGS, It’s my favorite of the group. And from what I hear, Meg Wolitzer may be at the lecture.

8 thoughts on “Elaine Newton’s Critic’s Choice Lecture Series 2013-2014

  1. For those of you who do not know what the Critic’s Choice lecture series is, it’s a series of six , throughout our high season, by Elaine Newton. The lectures take place here in Naples, Florida, at the Philharmonic For The Arts, or Artis-Naples, as it is now called. The series can be purchased online on the Phil’s website. Or bought singly, one at a time. Dr. Newton is an amazing speaker. Once you’ve heard her “teach” a book, you will know everything there is to know about it. I have heard her speak several times; each time she made the book even more memorable then it already was. But it is only in Naples, Florida. And it’s pricey.

  2. Well I would certainly love to know the book you won’t read. I read one that I thought she would include, which she did, and would have to say it is one of a very few in some time that I did not care for. Also for me was difficult to understand.
    I know you probably will not divulge this online, but your store in Estero is also my store. I will perhaps nab you sometime and see if I can get you to let the cat out of the bag.
    Would totally agree with your comments about the lecture series. It is really good…..and pricey.
    Glad to hear your surgery update. Foot things are not a lot of fun!
    sue

Leave a Reply

