The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Cafe By Mary Simses

Women's Fiction

Irresistible Blueberry

My friend Linny  slapped this one into my hands, and said she really liked it. THE IRRESISTIBLE BLUEBERRY BAKESHOP & CAFE by Mary Simses is a summertime delight. It was just what I needed to get me through this past several days.

I’ve never visited Maine.  I want to. I think of lobster when I think of Maine. And now of blueberries. Yum! Big, plump, ripe ones. Just look at this enticing cover. It really pulled me in.

Ellen Branford has just lost her grandmother. And she’s been left with a last request. Ellen’s grandmother gave her a letter to deliver to someone in her past. Someone she wishes to apologize to. And Ellen has no idea who this person is or why her grandmother feels she needs to apologize after so many years.

Ellen is a high-powered, and high-maintenance, lawyer. She lives in  NYC. Is engaged to marry a high-profile man who just happens to also be a lawyer. She leaves Hayden, the fiance, back in the big city. And she travels to Beacon, Maine, on her own, not knowing one single soul.

Ellen’s secretary has booked her into a lovely bed & breakfast inn; into a luxury suite with a view of the ocean. And a business port so she can keep in touch with her office. But when Ellen arrives at the Victory Inn, it’s not quite what she expects.  And that is just the beginning.

This novel gets started when Ellen is saved from drowning when she falls through the planks of a condemned dock. The riptide takes over, and even though she is a champion swimmer, she gets swept away.  A total stranger ends up saving her from disaster. Her personality comes oozing out right here.  We get a glimpse of who Ellen has become.

Beacon, Maine is exactly the kind of laid-back town you would want to find to get away from it all. Ellen discovers just who her grandmother really was and where she came from as she really finds her own self.

I’m not going to sugar-coat this novel. It is a light, summery read. But the writing is good. And I love the picture of Maine that it paints for me. This is just what might help make your summer more, well, summery. All the books we read can’t be literary tomes. I needed this and it came through for me. Give it a try. I think you’ll find you can wrap yourself around this willowy, summer read.

I want to thank Linny for reading it first. Then passing it on to me. Linny is what I call one of my first readers. You may wonder how I can come up with great title after great title. Well, this is one way. I trust Linny’s opinion. We like the same stuff. When she says I should read something; I know I really should:) And Little Brown and Company publishers for providing the galley. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

