Manuscript Found In Accra By Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho

Manuscript Found In Accra

“July 14, 1099. Jerusalem awaits the invasion of the crusaders who have surrounded the city’s gates. There, inside the ancient city’s walls, men and women of every age and every faith have gathered to hear the wise words of a mysterious man known only as the Copt. He has summoned the townspeople to address their fears with truth: “Tomorrow, harmony will become discord. Joy will be replaced by grief. Peace will give way to war. . . . None of us can know what tomorrow will hold, because each day has its good and its bad moments. So, when you ask your questions, forget about the troops outside and the fear inside. Our task is not to leave a record of what happened on this date for those who will inherit the Earth; history will take care of that. Therefore, we will speak about our daily lives, about the difficulties we have had to face.” The people begin with questions about defeat, struggle, and the nature of their enemies; they contemplate the will to change and the virtues of loyalty and solitude; and they ultimately turn to questions of beauty, love, wisdom, sex, elegance, and what the future holds. “What is success?” poses the Copt. “It is being able to go to bed each night with your soul at peace.” Now, these many centuries later, the wise man’s answers are a record of the human values that have endured throughout time. And, in Paulo Coelho’s hands, The Manuscript Found in Accra reveals that who we are, what we fear, and what we hope for the future come from the knowledge and belief that can be found within us, and not from the adversity that surrounds us.”

Author

Paulo Coelho

MANUSCRIPT FOUND IN ACCRA by Paulo Coelho, is the newest novel by this internationally bestselling author. His THE ALCHEMIST is a classic that still hits the bestseller lists.

I’ve been promising myself for years that I would make time to read one of Paulo Coelho’s amazing novels. My chance arrived when Knopf asked me if I wanted to preview this new title: MANUSCRIPT FOUND IN ACCRA. I jumped at the opportunity. What an amazing author. I found myself calming, settling in, and finally, absorbing this wonderful piece of work.

I discovered myself underlining passages: ” Only he who gives up is defeated. Everyone else is victorious; There are people who have never been defeated. They are the ones who never fought. Don’t try to be useful. Try to be yourself; that is enough, and that makes all the difference.”

My favorite chapter deals with solitude. “Solitude is not the absence of company, but the moment when our soul is free to speak to us and help us decide what to do with our life.

Therefore, blessed are those who do not fear solitude, who are not afraid of their own company, who are not always desperately looking for something to do, something to amuse themselves with, something to judge.

If you are never alone, you cannot know yourself. “

UK

UK edition

I treasure my solitude. It refreshes me. It helps me to untangle the snags life brings into my mind.

If you, like me, have never read Coelho, now is the time to begin. This novel is small in size, but long on sustenance. It will bring out the best in you, and make you think.

Thanks to Knopf publishers I received a galley and a useful and lovely planner. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

