Happy New Year!

Champagne Toast

Champagne Toast

Happy New Year!!

What will be your first read of this new year? I’d love to hear from you. Just leave a comment below.

I’m beginning this new year with a good attitude even though I am home from work with a severe case of tendonitis in my right Achilles. Ouch! Painful only when I walk! So my podiatrist has me home, off my foot for the most part. Hoping it is not a serious problem such as tearing. And that it will clear up and go away with this tender loving care.

Since I am not working at the store right now, I have time to catch up on my reading and writing. So it is a blessing and a curse. Never one to read a book that I find dull or uninteresting, or just badly written, I have made a pact with myself this new year to read only books I think are the best. I may read more non-fiction and history. But mostly I will stick with novels.

I’ve been rolling through some of the book blogs I follow and have found even more really good book blogs to follow this year.  I will eventually add them to my posts so you too can enjoy them.

This year we lost our dear Maurice at the grand old age of 22. He was in great shape until this past summer. He began a rapid decline for several weeks, and we finally had to help him through; one of the hardest decisions ever. But I can honestly say he had a fabulous life, and enriched our lives immensely.

I used to make New Year’s resolutions. I would lose weight, get published, on and on. Now, not so much. I know what I need to do. And I seem to be doing a better job of it without any fanfare. But to those of you who are making resolutions, good luck!

We are off to the movies today to see Les Miserables. I’ve hard it’s just awesome. Loved the play. A great way to begin the new year.

I look forward to hearing from you this year. Feel free to make comments, please. Let’s get the discussion going:)

12 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you. I love reading books you review. Even though I belong to two book clubs I enjoy your thoughts and can count on your reviews. Thanks and repair that ankle! Anne

    • I am so glad to hear you are enjoying the books I have reviewed. I hope you continue to do so this year. Thanks so much for your comments.

  2. I follow your blog regularly and read almost every book you recommend. I have read a trilogy by Penny Vincenzi (1st one is called No Angels) and would love if you would read them and comment on them as well. You would be in for a reading bonanza. Happy New Year Mary-Jane

    • Penny Vincenzi had a big following. I have missed out on her writing. Must add it to my to-read list:) Thanks for the suggestion. Thanks for joining the conversation.

  3. I, too, am a huge fan. I count on your lists and share them with my 99 year-old second cousin, who loves to read, Have long been interested in Frida Kahlo, so am planning to begin “The Secret Book of Frida Kahlo” by F. G. Haghenbeck.
    I would also be interested in hearing which book blogs you favor.
    Happy Holidays and take care of that ankle!
    sue

  4. So sorry to hear about your painful ankle – just when we least expect it, things happen to slow us down. And just when I was planning to visit you in the store to tell you about a friend of mine who has just published a book – and how she decided to write it is quite interesting. Later on that..
    Happy New Year and thank you again for all of your great book recommendations.

  5. I love to see what books you are reading and have read many of those that you recommended. You have introduced me to some wonderful authors, like Katharine Davis. After reading Capturing Paris, I had to read her two other books. I will be heading to Naples soon where my book club will be discussing State of Wonder by Ann Patchett, a book I have already read and enjoyed. I’m hoping you will be feeling much better soon.

    • I am so tickled you are a fan of Katharine Davis. She is working on a new novel set in Florence, Italy. I can’t wait to read it. I will write her and let her know she has a new fan. And thanks so much for your kind words. Stop into the store to say him while you are visiting.

      http://www.mauriceonbooks.com

Leave a Reply

