My Bookstore Edited By Ronald Rice And Booksellers Across The Country

My Bookstore

My Bookstore

This is one of the two books I asked for this Christmas. Just imagine how much fun I’m having leafing through this fun volume full of essays by great authors about their favorite bookstores.

The first thing I did was fly through the book looking to see who loved The Strand as much as me. And there are two authors who name it as their favs.

Bookstore

The Strand

“Eighty-four writers pay tribute to their favorite bricks-and-mortar stores.”

How important are these bookstores in this day and age? Ask any booklover and they will attest to the need for stores full of real books and real booksellers. People who know their stuff. What joy to find a bookseller who can recommend fabulous books.  Book people love the aura and aroma of books. They like to smell them. They enjoy picking them up, leafing through them. There is nothing more satisfying than to discover a new author. And how about attending a reading from a new author or one that you are crazy about. Now that is not something that can be accomplished online.

I’m the kind of person who does research before a trip to see what bookstores are in the area I will be visiting. And I have been known to take a trip primarily to do just that.

So, here is your book. For all of you who don’t know what book to give a booklover, this is it. For those of you who wish to treat yourself after the holidays, this is your book. This book will make you smile. It’s just what the doctor ordered!

Leave a Reply

