Merry Christmas And Happy Holidays

flower

Amaryllis

I chose this amazing photo of this gorgeous flower instead of a photo of our tiny Christmas tree because it is far more beautiful. Plus, I love it!

I hope all you readers are enjoying the holidays this year! I know that this time of year can be quite stressful. We are usually so busy running around gathering just the right gifts for family members and dear friends. Plus, many of us still work full-time. And I know women who work full-time, have young children, and….attend school. Hard to imagine. And do a great job of it.

This is our first year without our sweet Maurice. He is dearly missed. But the family is settling in and our smaller family seems a good fit.

My children are spread out these days. Only my son Mike and his wife Ana and their girls were over for Christmas dinner this year. These eight-year old twins are delightful. And now that they are expecting another tiny girl we are thrilled and had much to celebrate. Oldest son Craig lives way out yonder in Pineland. And my daughter Alicia lives in Orlando with her family. They chose to visit her husband’s family in Asheville this year. We miss them dearly but they woke to snow this morning and kids and dog ended up playing in the snow by eight a.m.

I will be posting my best of 2012 book list tomorrow. It is all fiction this year. I did read some non-fiction, but the fiction won out. I am still reading so it could change even at this late date.

I am taking bookings for spring lectures. This spring has several big titles. I say spring; more like late winter, but spring here in Florida. I am especially excited about three books. One, as you know, is THE AVIATOR’S WIFE by Melanie Benjamin. I got a galley of it at SIBA and met the author who is absolutely delightful. In fact, she signed and personalized my copy. I was so excited to have another real reader read it that I gave it to my boss to read. Sadly, her puppy ate the galley. When I told Melanie, she offered to send me a finished book, personalized. How sweet. Of course the review will run in our local paper. Closer to pub date. Already, the first chapter is live in the January issue of Good Housekeeping magazine! You will want to read or reread GIFT FROM THE SEA by Anne Morrow Lindburgh, so be prepared.

I am dealing with some ankle issues and am home from work for a couple of weeks. No running around for me. The only thing I can do is catch up on my reading and writing. I promise to write more next year:)

I’m wishing all of you happy holidays. And don’t forget to take some time out to read a good book!

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas And Happy Holidays

  1. I am so happy to have met you (in the store) and look forward to all of your emails, columns, etc. Blessings for 2013 and may we share the joy of many good reads!

Leave a Reply

