Anna Quindlen’s Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

Anna Quindlen has a new memoir.  LOTS OF CANDLES, PLENTY OF CAKE is about the second phase of her life. Her earlier memoir was written some time ago when she was much younger.

Quindlen is now 58 as this book is published. She is in my age bracket. So I was able to relate to much of her musing. But I was somewhat taken aback by all the talk of death and dying. But it began to dawn on me that she is preparing herself for the final act.

Quindlen is in super health. Her family is doing well. She talks of having a second home. This down-turn in the economy that has so deeply hurt so many doesn’t seem to have done damage in her life. This is good. But many people reading this book may have a hard time relating to her life.

When talk turned to how important friends have become as we age, I took note. This resonated hardily with me.  We need to hold our friends close and closer. They are the dearest part of our lives, besides family.

Health issues don’t seem to be a problem for Quindlen, and I am happy to hear that. For me, the past few years have brought on bouts of arthritis and tendinitis etc. Learning to deal with this aspect of aging, has been trying.

Anna Quindlen

Anna Quindlen

I can relate to Quindlen’s desire to get rid of “stuff.”  I find myself looking around the house and seeing which things I can part with. Are we all wheedling out the unneeded things?

Quindlen is a Pulitzer winning journalist who also writes novels.  I love her novels.  Not many writers are really good at both fiction and non-fiction. But Quindlen is.

This is a  very short little memoir that you will surely want to toss into your reading bag for the summer.  And I look forward to her next novel.

I received my copy of LOTS OF CANDLES, PLENTY OF CAKE from Random House. At 182 pp you’ll find it a quick and insightful read.

2 thoughts on “Anna Quindlen’s Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

  1. I love the sound of this book. I saw that it is being reviewed on The Book Report radio show (www.bookreportradio.com) so I am checking out the various online reviews. They are mostly good, except for a few reviewers in their 20’s who do not understand it. That is sufficient recommendation.

Leave a Reply

