Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light ( and Dark Chocolate)

Amy Thomas is the author of this delightful romp through the French patisseries and boulangeries of Paris.  She couldn’t help but toss in the best of New York City as well.

When Thomas was offered a job writing copy for Louis Vuitton in Paris, well, she jumped at the chance. Can you say once in a lifetime? She expounds on the actual move and getting settled in this new memoir.

Sweets in Paris

Paris, My Sweet

Just how easy is it to live and work in another country? She may know some French, but is it enough to be comfortable in the City of Light?

Amy was able to visit almost every Patisserie in the city. She wows us with colorful chronicles of encounters with tasty, lacy confections all over the city. It seems there are sometimes several shops on one avenue. We get to visit them vicariously through Amy and her friends.

This is not the book to read while dieting. In fact, there were times I thought I could smell the macarons. The French spell it macaron. These delicate tidbits seem to be ubiquitous in France. They have taken over the cupcake wars.

At any rate, this little book is a treat for the senses and the mind. You will feel as if you are on a sweet ride with Amy. I know I will take my copy to both cities when next I visit. Enjoy.

One thought on “Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light ( and Dark Chocolate)

  1. This is really attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to searching for extra of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

