Bobby Flay’s Bar Americain Cookbook

Bobby Flay

Bar Americain Cookbook

When I found that  Bobby Flay had a new cookbook based on recipes from his fabulous NYC  restaurant, Bar Americain, I went wild. You see, my daughter and I dined at Bar Americain a little over a year ago while we were attending the BlogHer conference. We had a great experience and I even took photos of a couple of the dishes we enjoyed. There was such a plethora of unique and luscious sounding goodies that we went with several small plates and were glad we did. The Hot Potato Chips with Blue Cheese Sauce were  scrumptious and unforgettable.

I had a preconceived notion that Bobby Flay was the grill master. And that grilling was all he was about. Boy was I wrong. I have watched him on Iron Chef where he is amazing. I have loved seeing him do a “throw down.”  I put the show on to catch a peek, then an hour later I realize I am still enthralled.

Bobby Flay

Bobby Flay

I contacted  Clarkson Potter publishing ( part of the Random House family) and asked  if they could send me an ARC of this upcoming cookbook.  They did. I will be taking it with me to book presentations this year so people can take a look at this gorgeous book. The dishes pop right off the page and pressure you to make them right this moment. I have my eye on several but have not been able to narrow it down to one yet. But, I know I want to make the lobster potato salad. Can you even imagine?

If you plan on buying only one cookbook this year, let it be this one!

I am including Bobby’s recipe for the Lobster Potato Salad because I think it is easy to prepare and elegant.

lobster potato salad

Bobby Flay's Lobster Potato Salad

LOBSTER POTATO SALAD

1 1/2 pounds medium fingerling potatoes, scrubbed

Kosher salt

3/4 cup mayonnaise

2 T red wine vinegar

2 T fresh lemon juice

2 T whole grain mustard

2 T prepared horseradish, drained

1 T Dijon mustard

1 T honey

Freshly ground black pepper

1 pound cooked fresh lobster meat, coarsely chopped

2 T finely chopped fresh tarragon

1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1. Put  the potatoes in a large pot and add enough cold water to cover. Add 1 tablespoon salt and bring to a boil over high heat. Cook until the potatoes are tender when pierced with a knife, 12 to 15 minutes. Drain well, let cool slightly, and then cut crosswise into 1/4 inch slices. Put the potatoes in a large bowl and cover with aluminum foil to keep them warm while you prepare the dressing.

2. Whisk together the mayonnaise, vinegar, lemon juice, horseradish, mustards, and honey in a small bowl and season with salt and pepper. Pour over the potatoes, add lobster, tarragon, and parsley, and fold gently to combine. Season with salt and pepper. The salad can be refrigerated for up to 8 hours. It is best served at room temperature.

Now stand back and give yourself a round of applause for creating this masterpiece!

3 thoughts on “Bobby Flay’s Bar Americain Cookbook

  1. I love Bobbie Flay. I find that most of his cookbooks use unique ingredients though that a typical Mom wouldn’t normally have on hand, but I love HIM and all of his shows.

Leave a Reply

