BBAW Interview Swap With Julie Of Read Handed

BBAW 2011

I signed up for an interview swap during Book Blogger’s Appreciation Week. My swap partner is Julie of Readhanded. Julie is pretty new at this blogging stuff, but just wait until you see her awesome writing. She’s a librarian living in Northern Florida. Let’s give Julie a big welcome. I asked Julie a few questions and we’re going to jump right in and begin now.

Read Handed

Julie

1- Reader’s would love to know why and how you became a book blogger?
I became a “book blogger” almost by accident! I’m a librarian and librarians love blogs and blogging, so I had been reading a lot of blogs and getting the itch to start one of my own. The only thing holding me back was a lack of anything to write about! My life is pretty tame, so I was sure no one would want to read about it. That’s when I realized that I don’t do many interesting things, but I sure do read a lot of interesting things. So I decided to start a blog where I would talk about the books that I read and hopefully start discussions about the topics and themes in those books. I read some advice online saying that new bloggers should read and comment on similar blogs to “advertise” or find readers, so I Googled “book blogs” and found this whole amazing community that I never even knew existed.
2- How do you choose the books you read? And, do you post a review of them all?
I don’t really have a particular method of choosing books to read. Typically, I wander through the stacks at the public library and pull books whose titles or covers seem interesting. I’ve read some very strange and random books that way (like On the Beach by Nevil Shute), but it’s given me an appreciation for a broad spectrum of genres. The last couple of years, I’ve gotten most of my books free from publishers at the ALA (American Library Association) conference each summer, so right now those are my focus. As for posting reviews, I have to say that I actually shy away from using the term “review” most of the time. While I do, invariably, give my opinion on the books I read, I’m really more interested in talking about the themes in the books, or what I’ve learned from them. But, yes, so far I have written at least one post about every book I’ve read since I started Read Handed in March.
3- We would love to know two of your all-time favorite books.
Two books that stand out in my mind as beloved and cherished, either for the literature itself or the memories I have surrounding them, are Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (so cliche) and The Poetry of Robert Frost.
4- What are your plans for your blog in the future?
I know I should, but I don’t really have any future goals for my blog. I’d like to just keep steadily growing in readership and continue generating interesting conversations in my post comments. When I started my blog, I did buy the rights to the domain name readhanded.com, so I would like to eventually figure out how to migrate to my own domain. I think that would be a significant step for my little hobby.

Read Handed

Julie

Thank you sooo much Julie!

4 thoughts on “BBAW Interview Swap With Julie Of Read Handed

Leave a Reply

