These Books Are On Maurice’s Radar Now

Charles Frazier

Nightwoods

This new one from award winning author Charles Frazier is his best yet! How do I know! I read the first chapter and put it on the top of my pile. It is my next read. Comes out October 4. The great publishing folks from Random House kindly sent me an arc. I am anxious to begin this one. I have not read all his books, but this one appears more readable and the characters actually jump from the page immediately.

French goth

The Lantern

THE LANTERN is coming to me soon from the publisher. Harper Collins has agreed to send me a copy since I contacted them with my interest. The writing is Kate Morton-like. And the story takes place mostly in Provence.  Is already on sale in hardcover.

Spanish translate

The Time In Between

THE TIME IN BETWEEN by Maria Duenas is a best seller in Spain already. This lovely novel arrived in a gorgeous silk bag with the title in silver lettering. With a cursory glance, I find it appears to be somewhat like one of my favorites a few years past, THE SEAMSTRESS. Goes on sale November 8.

Hillary Jordan

When She Spoke

WHEN SHE SPOKE by Hillary Jordan is one I have been waiting for since reading Jordan’s first book, MUDBOUND. I loved MUDBOUND to death.  And if you haven’t read it, well, go get it right now! The new one is unique as heck and the idea for the story came from Jordan’s family. This one on sale October 4.

So, these are the ones on my nightstand. The ones I know I will read. Others will sneak in. Lately, I’ve come to the realization that I have to be choosy.  There are plenty of books I see out there and get excited about only to find they fizzle out quickly. I don’t have time to waste on books that won’t keep my interest through the whole story. I also feel I owe it to you, my readers, to bring only the best of the best to the table.

One thought on “These Books Are On Maurice’s Radar Now

Leave a Reply

