Mom Update

I want to thank everyone for their kind words about mom. I know many of you have dealt with similar situations with aging parents. Believe me, I can use all the advise I can get. My daughter took the hospital duty today to give me a day off. It has been ten and eleven hour days for almost a week now. Stressful and tiring. And you need to be sharp to deal with these issues at the hospital. Nurses change each shift and do not return, rotating to other facilities in the system. Mistakes get made. People are tense. And patients suffer. We have found that lots of questions must be asked over and over again. And points have to be stressed. Everyone is overworked. But most of the nurses and assistants have been great. Keeping a sense of humor is crucial.

My mom is a character. She has become even more of one lately. Everyone loves her. She is a mild mannered old lady with an easy way about her. However, we all got to see another side of her the night before she had the surgery. They kept postponing the surgery because of low sodium and decreased lung capacity. And other things like pneumonia etc.. So, when she woke in the night all confused, she tried to get out of bed to go to the bathroom. They had to restrain my 85 year-old 85 pound mother. They called to tell me what was going on. I had to ask what on earth they were talking about. Surely, not mom. But, yes, mom. Between morphine and low sodium she had come undone.

But mom came through the hip repair surgery like a pro. Now she has a left hip to match the right hip she had repaired eight years ago. Same surgeon. But she is eight years older, frail, and suffering the plights of a two pack a day smoker.

I will be busy working on getting mom into just the right facility to suit her needs. It is a challenge. I work full time and write etc.. So, if there are not as many posts for a while, this is the reason.

I will say I have been reading a most interesting and entertaining new novel by Stewart O’Nan called “Emily, Alone.” I will be blogging about it soon. Oddly enough, it deals with an 80 year old widow living alone. Is an amazing read.

Okay, I am off to call mom. Wonder if she will actually push the red button and answer. Maybe yes, maybe no.

4 thoughts on “Mom Update

    • Thanks so much Katharine. I have had my book with and whip it out when I can. Finished it today. I loved it. Back to work tomorrow. Got lots accomplished for mom today. She will be moving to a facility near us. Thank the lord.

Leave a Reply

