BBAW Interview Swap 2010

Book Chick City

Book Chick City

It’s Book Bloggers Appreciation Week. I signed up to do an interview swap and am paired up with Carolyn from Book Chick City. Carolyn lives across the pond in Great Britain. Here we go!

So, Carolyn, tell us about yourself.

My name is Carolyn and I am the chickadee behind Book Chick City. I started blogging July, 2009 and absolutely love it. I’m totally obsessed with books. I love reading them, buying them, and collecting them. I have been an avid reader since I was tiny. Book Chick City is my outlet for my unhealthy book addiction.

I’m sure everyone would love to know how you got your start blogging and where you want to go with it.

I originally set up my blog for the purpose of running an online book club, but soon found the book blogging community and realized that it was something I wanted to do. After a couple of weeks my blog had grown and began to include author interviews and book reviews. I just recently had my one year blogiversary and I honestly can’t believe I’ve been blogging for over a year, but it’s been a lot of fun! I hope to continue as I have been with guest authors and book reviews, I’m really enjoying it and hope people who visit my blog can see that and enjoy BCC too:)

What book genres are you passionate about?

I absolutely love horror and urban fantasy; they are probably my favourite genres, but I also really enjoy mystery and more recently romance.

Can you give us a list of ten of your favorite books of all time? And, choose one as your all-time fav.

Wow-I always find these kind of questions so difficult, but at least I have 10 to work with, although they’re not in any particular order as that really is too hard:)

1. Dracula by Bram Stoker 2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte 3. Jane Ayre by Charolotte Bronte 4. I Am Legend by Richard Matheson 5. I Know Why The Caged Bird SingsΒ  by Maya Angelou 6. Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton 7. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote 8. Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman 9. Downside Ghosts series by Stacia Kane 10. Interview With The Vampire by Anne Rice.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading an ARC called Warm Bodies by Issac Marion-it’s a zombie novel but it’s very different and quite unique. I will be reviewing it for my upcoming event; ALL HALLOWS EVE {hyperlink: http://www.bookchickcity.com/2010/09/event-announcement-all-hallows-eve-2010.html}

Do you own an e-reader?

You know, I never thought I would own an e-reader, but a few months back I bought an iPad. Although I love my iPad for mostly everything it offers I can’t use it to read books because it’s just too heavy for me. I have very small hands and I find it’s just a bit too big-so I have bought myself a Kindle3 with a gorgeous hot pink case! The case arrived two days after I ordered it, but my Kindle will be another couple of weeks I think. I’m very impatient. I want my new toy NOW! LOL. I don’t think my Kindle will take over from reading print books, but I think to have both gives me options and I like that:)
Thank you so much Carolyn!Β  I look forward to reading your interview with me on your blog at Book Chick City this week.

BBAW

Book Bloggers Appreciation Week

8 thoughts on “BBAW Interview Swap 2010

  1. My hands are small too and I doubt I’d be able to read from an iPad, I’m jealous of your Kindle even though my Sony Reader works fine!

    And I can’t believe you’ve been blogging for just over a year, I thought you were a well-established name when I arrived on the blogging scene.

    I somehow tend to talk to the person being interviewed instead of the interviewer in comments, sorry Jean! I actually found your blog through the interview over at BCC and your blog looks like my kind of blog so I will be sure to visit more often from now on πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Iris – I can’t wait for my Kindle to arrive. I honestly never thought I would be buying an eReader, but I can’t hep myself, I always want the latest gadget LOL Yep on a little over a year old, can’t believe I’ve been blogging that long to be honest – it really has flown by. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

    Thanks again Jean! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Ladies, lovely interview. Carolyn, I love your blog. So pleased to hear you are getting a K3, you are going to LOVE it! I love mine. πŸ™‚ Ok so this is a new-to-me blog so I’m off to have a look around!

  4. I’d like an e-reader someday (although it’d never replace paper books), and hadn’t thought that maybe the iPad would be too heavy/big. I have small hands, too. It must be frustrating to have the case first — kind of like recieving a book jacket, then the book :-).

  5. Hi Beth – I’m looking forward to getting my Kindle 3 – hope it lives up to all the hype! πŸ™‚

    Hi Serena – The iPad is amazing, I do love it, just not for reading books πŸ˜‰ And thanks for the lovely comment, it means a lot πŸ™‚

    Hi FV – I love your blog too – and the gorgeous new design! I must say I’m VERY excited about getting a K3 *see, I’m even using the lingo now ;)* It won’t replace my paper books but I just love getting new toys, and reading all those lovely books I can download in just 60 seconds – heheeeee!! πŸ™‚

    Hi Valerie – I agree, eReaders won’t replace my paper books but having both I think is great. The K3 is easily transportable for holidays etc – and yes, I like your analogy, it is like getting the book cover first but not the book – very frustrating *stamps foot* LOL

Leave a Reply

