Meg Wolitzer’s Appearance at Artis-Naples

author

Meg Wolitzer

I was only one of some 700 dedicated Meg Wolitzer fans who stormed Artis-Naples yesterday morning.  You see, Elaine Newton invited Meg to attend the lecture of THE INTERESTINGS,  Wolitzer’s award-winning block-buster novel.

Meg and Elaine shared the stage with each having her own podium. Elaine opened the show with an introduction of Meg Wolitzer’s novels, especially citing THE INTERESTINGS as Meg’s most ambitious book yet.  And ambitious it is. So much so that when it came upon us in early spring of last year, I remember thinking as I closed the book on the last page, that this would be one of the important books of the year. And so it is. And for many years to come, I’m sure.

We readers were in for such a treat. Meg and Elaine made us laugh, think and reminisce. Meg is delightful. She managed to capture her audience immediately with her ready smile and easy stance. It was a very happy audience. Since I had not attended any of the lectures with the author in-house, I was not sure this would work. I am here to tell you that it unequivocably does.

I always find myself hanging on Elaine’s every word. She has made me such a better reader over the years. After attending one of her book lectures, you find yourself “owning” it.  Even when I feel very close to a novel, she can make it seem even more appealing, smarter, more vividly alive.

Meg Wolitzer

The Interestings

I am reposting my review from last spring of THE INTERESTINGS by Meg Wolitzer  because it will be available in trade paperback soon, and just because I can. Enjoy.

3 responses to “Meg Wolitzer’s Appearance at Artis-Naples

  1. Absolutely Meg is la creme de la creme! Not only a great book but a woman with poise,great sense of humor and terrific speaking ability! The best we all had heard at the Phil.

Leave a Reply

